(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying on the Boeing 777 > Under what circumstances would a Boeing 777 divert?
Under what circumstances would a Boeing 777 divert?
Flying - Flying on the Boeing 777
Tuesday, 11 December 2007 21:29

If the weather is foggy, what are the chances of the plane being diverted?

The airline regulatory authorities such as the Civil Aviation Authority and FAA ensure that airlines are operated safely. They have rules and regulations encompassing the conduct of a safe flight in all sort of environment. To ensure compliance, they do spot checks once in a while unannounced.

So all flights are carefully planned and pilots are given weather forecasts notifying them whether they can expect good or foggy weather on arrival at the destination. In most cases, the detailed weather forecast are extremely accurate. More attention are usually paid by pilots when fog is expected. Sufficient fuel on board would be carried to cover all contingencies and an alternate airport with good weather would be nominated in the event of a diversion.