(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying on the Boeing 777 > Could the crash of the BA Boeing 777 be due to water in the fuel?
Could the crash of the BA Boeing 777 be due to water in the fuel?
Flying - Flying on the Boeing 777
Wednesday, 16 April 2008 06:48

Dear Captain Lim,

I read from a Chinese Aviation magazine (April 2008) about this subject. It was reported that the crash was probably due to the existence of water (a natural phenomenon) in the fuel. The water was frozen solid when the giant plane was enroute from Beijing to London via the Artic Ocean. The frozen water or existence of mould blocked the fuel supply to the engines. As a result, the engines ignored the instruction of the flight computer to a small increase in power during its final approach. Was this a reasonable guess as to the cause of the crash?

Also, have all 777 pilots been trained to handle a complete engine failure during the final approach? I'm going to fly on a Boeing 777 on the same route in June 2008. Shall I consider choosing other airlines using other kind of aircraft?

Best Regards,

Janus Poon