(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying the Plane > Feedback: Dead-stick Glide Landing
Flying - Flying the Plane
Wednesday, 19 September 2012 14:58

US Airways Flight 1549 Hudson River Crash

Dear Capt Lim,

I enjoyed reading your articles featured in the August and September issues of Air Asia's in-flight magazine. I don't have any questions, but perhaps a correction and a suggestion.

In the September article, you mentioned that the term "dead-stick landing" was coined in reference to the old wooden propellers of planes. I have always understood this term to refer to the yoke of the plane, which in older propeller-driven aircraft was a "stick", as in the term "stick and rudder".

Later in the article, on handling a dead-stick landing you mentioned that "Unlike a normal powered landing, a Dead-Stick landing requires skills and good judgement." But don't ALL landings require skills and good judgement?

Perhaps using a modifier such as "more than the usual", "increased vigilance", or something like that would be more precise. After all, there is no option for a go-around, right?