(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying the Plane > Why a Captain sits on the left side of a plane?
Why a Captain sits on the left side of a plane?
Flying - Flying the Plane
Monday, 07 January 2013 15:28

Pilot’s Eye View from A330 Cockpit – Frankfurt to Seattle

Hi Captain Lim,

Why a Captain sits on the left side of a plane in the cockpit?

Michael

Hi Michael,

I have answered this question in the April 2011 issue of the Travel 3Sixty magazine. It is reproduced below for your reading pleasure.

In an aircraft’s cockpit, the captain always sits on the left side and this has raised queries as to why he never sits on the right. The reason for this in a commercial jetliner seems to be rather historical. It is like asking why some cars are left-hand drive whilst others are right-hand drive