(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying the Plane > When would you attempt an automatic landing instead of diverting?
When would you attempt an automatic landing instead of diverting?
Flying - Flying the Plane
Monday, 04 February 2013 03:45

Cat I ILS landing at Hong Kong in Heavy Rain

Dear Capt. Lim,

I have seen some ILS CAT III landings on YouTube and they are hair rising.

As a VFR pilot I cannot imagine the excitement and anticipation a pilot must be going through when conducting one of these landings.

Can you explain when a decision to attempt a CAT III landing versus a diversion to an alternate? (assuming both aerodrome and aircraft are sufficiently equipped)

When would you conduct a CAT IIIA & IIIB auto land?

Jimmy James

Hi Jimmy,

When a pilot is properly trained and certified to conduct automatic landing in bad weather conditions, he has to abide by certain rules.

Auto Landings are classified into the following based on the limitations on visibility and cloud base.

Category RVR (Visibility) Cloud Base (Decision Height)
a I 550M (800M) 200 feet
b II 350M 100-200 feet