Latest Comment

Can you become an ai
Hi captain, I met with a road accident and got a s

Why do I experience
Having just returned from Newfoundland...I had two

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying the Plane > Could the wings snap off if a plane takes off with empty wing tanks?
Could the wings snap off if a plane takes off with empty wing tanks?
Flying - Flying the Plane
Monday, 20 May 2013 07:01

Refuelling an Airbus A380

Dear Captain Lim,

Are airliners being refuelled only from one side of the aircraft, namely the right wing? If so, do pilots transfer fuel from one tank to another on the ground as part of their pre-flight preparation?

Is it true that a heavy aircraft, fully loaded with cargo, passengers, baggage; centre tank full with fuel but empty wing tanks, could snap its wings upon take off?

Thanks

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

A plane can be refuelled on either the left or right tank. Again, it depends on the type of plane – some can be refuelled on the right side only. Even if both sides of the plane can uplift fuel, the right side is preferred as the fuel truck would not interfere with the boarding or disembarkation of passengers that is usually from the left side.

Fuel transfer from the right to the left tank is done automatically by the refueller, not the pilot.