(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying the Plane > How can two B737's land at wrong airport in the US?
How can two B737's land at wrong airport in the US?
Flying - Flying the Plane
Monday, 20 January 2014 17:44

Ooops! Plane lands at wrong airport

Hi Captain,

Two recent events in the US have led to commercial airliners namely B737-800's landing at the wrong airports.

Obviously this would be impossible during an ILS approach as the transponder at the end of the runway and the localizer for the glideslope decent wouldn't be triggered. We know however that ILS isn't available at all airports and even if it is, could be unavailable due to a number of reasons which then requires a visual approach.