(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying the Plane > Does an airplane fly 3 degrees upwards or downwards during the cruise?
Does an airplane fly 3 degrees upwards or downwards during the cruise?
Flying - Flying the Plane
Tuesday, 30 December 2014 17:03

Angle of Attack and you

Hi Captain Lim

I have just finished reading a book about flying that I bought on a trip to Taiwan. From the book I know that an aircraft is flying at around 3 degrees when cruising in the air. I also know that the table on the passenger's seat is also designed to be at 3 degrees.

I have a question. Is the aircraft flying upwards at 3 degrees or downwards at 3 degrees? And if it flies upwards at 3 degrees, will it climb to a higher level? Flying from an opposite direction, would it descend at 3 degrees towards the ground?

Thank you for your answer.

Amelia

Hi Amelia,

What you have read is partly correct.