(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Flying the Plane > Is it easy for aircraft to avoid volcanic ash?
Is it easy for aircraft to avoid volcanic ash?
Flying - Flying the Plane
Saturday, 06 June 2015 11:17

Falling from the Sky - British Airways 9

Dear Capt Lim.

I have to fly to Jakarta via Singapore next week. I just heard news that 3000 people have been evacuated from villages in Sumatra because of increased activity in a nearby volcano.

I'm a really nervous flyer and this is playing on my mind.

Is it easy for aircraft to avoid volcanic ash?

Sam

Hi Sam,

Perhaps my article written for Travel 3Sixty in-flight magazine below might help you to understand more about volcanic ash..

Dealing with Volcanic Ash

Mother Nature’s increasingly erratic behaviour means that pilots may have to deal with volcanic ash that spews from eruptions now and then.