(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > General > Is it true that pilots never panic?
Is it true that pilots never panic?
Professional Pilots - General
Sunday, 29 October 2006 06:38
Hello Captain,

I*ve heard that pilots never panic. Is there some kind of special training for pilots to make sure that they do not buckle under pressure?

Thanks,

Amit

Hi Amit,

I would not totally agree with your statement that pilots never panic. Pilots are human just like anyone else. We share all kind of emotions? happiness, anger, fear, etc.

Panic, we all know, is something that causes a period of intense fear or discomfort in a person - often accompanied by a sense of imminent danger.

The natural role of the anxiety leading to panic appears to guide us toward immediate evasive action, be it 'flight or fight'?.

We were 'designed' by evolution to work effectively within our natural environment and when we create technologies that do not conform to the rules of the natural world, we increase the odds of panic. But panic can be overcome.