What factors lead a
Hi Captain Lim! Thank you so much Sir, you enligh

What do you think ab
i am from Taiwan, now planing to PEA, but after re

Etihad Airways Cadet
hi sir i am Ashutosh mahajan from india and my dr

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Job Opportunities > What are the chances of me being an Asian airline pilot?
What are the chances of me being an Asian airline pilot?
Professional Pilots - Job Opportunities
Written by Capt Lim   
Wednesday, 12 October 2005 10:05

Dear Captain Lim,

I am an Embry-Riddle student and a flight instructor in Florida. I am currently in my second year of University and was just considering the future of my pilot career. I am originally from Texas but of Filipino descent.

My question is, what are the chances of me becoming a pilot for an Asian carrier? What do you recommend that I should do before pursuing a career as a pilot in Asia?

Thank You

Eugene

Hi Eugene,

I would assume that you will finally graduate from the Embry-Riddle University with a FAA ATP (Airline Transport Pilot) Certificate. What are your chances of becoming an airline pilot for an Asian carrier? My answer is - very slim to practically nil. You see, your US FAA ATP (sad to say :-( ) is not equivalent to the UK JAR or European JAA ATPL. Yes, most Asian carriers follow the UK or JAA ATPL, but some Gulf countries do recognize your FAA ATP.

What can you do? Well, you can convert your FAA ATP to a JAA ATPL. To do so, you would need to take 14 ground school subjects (not as easy as the FAA exams), followed by a CPL skills test conversion, the IR conversion course of 15 hours, ending with an Instrument Rating skills test and finally, the MCC (multi-crew course). The nearest place that you can do this conversion is in Canada - across the Northern border.

This detailed thread from the Google Answers
here has more on this topic.

To upgrade an ICAO CPL to a JAA CPL

The JAA ATPL hours required are: