What factors lead a
Hi Captain Lim! Thank you so much Sir, you enligh

What do you think ab
i am from Taiwan, now planing to PEA, but after re

Etihad Airways Cadet
hi sir i am Ashutosh mahajan from india and my dr

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Licenses & Ratings > Will I be good enough to market myself with my future pilot qualifications?
Will I be good enough to market myself with my future pilot qualifications?
Professional Pilots - Licenses & Ratings
Written by Capt Lim   
Wednesday, 04 March 2009 06:07

Hi Capt Lim,

I am 24 years old and I am an aerospace engineer. I have worked for almost 3 years now in a maintenance, repair and overhaul aviation company in the Middle East. I am a citizen of India. I am very keen to become a professional pilot. I have done my proper research but still have a few questions that I thought I should ask.

I have decided to head off to a school in the US in Florida where I can attain both an FAA & JAA CPL license simultaneously. The program is termed as Airline Pilot Program where I earn from zero hours all the way till CPL and get my ATPL and then work as a flight instructor and earn 1500hrs, most of which would be on multi engine.

The school as such doesn’t offer any MCC / Jet transition course. So I plan to separately take up the Jet transition course along with MCC and type rating on A320. There are a few programs where I can get 500hrs on A320. This is an option I would consider in case I still do not get a job. Once I am done with all this, I would head back to India and UAE to convert my license and then try for jobs.

The whole journey to attain all the above may take around 2.5 to 3 years. And, with the current recession, my biggest question is, how the airlines are coping up with this situation. My biggest fear is that after doing all this, I may not land up with a job in spite of spending a lot of money on flight training all the way to type and line training.