(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Lightnings > How do composite fuselages deal with lightning strikes?
How do composite fuselages deal with lightning strikes?
Weather - Lightnings
Tuesday, 25 June 2013 04:57

Airplane Struck By Lightning

Hi Capt Lim,

How do composite fuselages (i.e. Airbus A350 & Boeing 787) deal with lightning strikes?

Bryan Trill

Hi Bryan,

As I have mentioned in previous answers, lightning strikes are generally quite harmless to airplanes. Even if there is a direct strike, it would not penetrate the cabin; affect the engines or the fuel tanks. When an airplane is struck by lightning, the electrical charges simply travel the length of the aircraft and exit harmlessly through the antenna-like rods at the trailing edges of the flaps or, tail of a plane.

The strike, however, may cause some burn marks on the fuselage skin at the point of impact. The pilot would normally be aware of such a strike and report this incident to the engineers after landing for further inspection and rectification if necessary.