(See here)

Get an autographed copy here

AMAZON.COM  -  To Order, please Click here 

(eBook) Kindle edition - please Click here

Latest Comment

Does a jet aircraft
There is almost no curvature, because the Earth is

Does an airline capt
I dont think the interview on our side (nautical)

A successful SIA Cad
I am a 3rd year student in Singapore polytechnic.

Cadet Pilots and Pil
captain how to in to the pilot career, becausee i

The twin-engine vers
Dave, in short, it depends on the severity of the

Engine Failure of QA
I heard the Captain of that flight was undergoing

What are the eyesigh
Sir, I am interested to become an airline pilot! T

My Boyfriend is Deat
4 engines plane more safe, remmember passenger pla

Eyesight requirement
HELLO SIR; I have a specks of 1.0 no. so can i eli

Cadet Pilots and Pil
hi capt lim, i want to know that does the cadet pi

Paperback Version

For Local Availability - Check Here

Home > Medical Examination > How stringent are pilot's medical examination?
How stringent are pilot's medical examination?
Pilot Career - Medical Examination
Tuesday, 11 December 2007 21:40

How stringent are pilot's medical?

Introduction

Pilots below the age of 40 years are checked annually whereas those above are checked six monthly. Medical standards and certification are stringent. Their eyes, ear, nose, throat, equilibrium, mental, neurological, cardiovascular and general medical conditions are checked by Federal Air Surgeon or aviation trained doctors. 

As long as a pilot is certified to be medically fit, he can continue to fly internationally up to the age of 65 years in the US, Australia and other ICAO member countries.  This limit is not fixed worldwide for the retirement age for Captains can vary from country to country. In Germany and UK, pilots by law retires at 55 years.

A brief summary (see FAA for the full details) of the details are as follows:-

Eye

Distant visual acuity of 20/20 or better in each eye separately with or without glasses